PJ Library

Your Child’s Treasury of Jewish Books

Parents Blessing Children

Did you know that every child under age 12 in your family can receive their own FREE book each month?

PJ Library sends free, award-winning books that celebrate Jewish values and culture to families with children from birth through 8 years old. Signing up is easy and takes less than 3 minutes. Join today!

PJ Our Way (PJOW) is for kids ages 9-12, and they choose their own books each month, creating a tailored experience totally based on their own interests and reading level. Learn more and sign up your middle grade reader.

PJ Library and PJ Our Way in Greater Washington are made possible by The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington, the Harold Grinspoon Foundation, and generous local donors.

Photo above used courtesy of PJ Library.

Want to make connections with other Jewish families?
Check out the JFamily Ambassadors program!

Difficult Conversations: Resources for Parents

Shabbat and Havdalah Celebrations

DC:

Maryland:

Virginia:

  • Tot Shabbat at TBS!: third Friday of each month at 6:00 PM, and for Family Shabbat on the first Friday at 7:00 PM (Temple B’nai Shalom, Fairfax Station, VA)
  • Gan Shabbat: first Saturday of every month | 11:00 AM (Agudas Achim, Alexandria, VA)
  • Rhythm ‘N’ Ruach Shabbat Family Jam: most Saturdays | 11:00 AM (Agudas Achim, Alexandria, VA)
  • Tot Shabbat Train: The next Tot Shabbat Train stop with the Pozez JCC’s Growing Jewish Families is TBA

Ongoing Programs:

(Baby Lap Time and Growing Grasshoppers are on summer hiatus)

What We Are Reading

FROM THE JEWISH FEDERATION

703-J-CARING Community Support Line
Feeling overwhelmed? Unsure about your options for support? Call 703-J-CARING: The Jewish Community Support Line (703-522-7464), to be connected with the many resources available to residents of DC, MD, and Northern VA.

Connect with Purpose with Your Grandchildren

FROM PJ LIBRARY

Recommended Summer Camp Books
Whether your kids are headed to Jewish summer camp, are already there, or you just want to plant the seeds of excitement for the future, enjoy PJ Library’s list of recommended camp books.

Read PJ Library Books Together Via Kinzoo

Check out the three PJ Library books available on Kinzoo Together, an app that integrates storybooks and games into video calls so family members in different locations can spend quality time reading and playing together.

Find Your Next Read: Fantastic Jewish Middle Grade Books for Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson

If you know a middle-grade reader who enjoys magical adventures like the Percy Jackson or Harry Potter books, PJ Library has a recommended summer reading list of fantasy novels that will take them to other worlds. All the books prominently feature Jewish heroes, content, and culture.

Summer Family Fun Pinterest Board

Bookmark our Summer Family Fun Pinterest board for new sources of games, books, recipes, and more ideas to make this summer your coolest one yet!

How to Talk to Children About Antisemitism
It’s a sad reality that even as we share holiday greetings and festive foods, we also need to offer expert advice on talking to your children about this topic.

PJ OUR WAY

PJ Our Way July Choices

PJ Our Way is proud to offer four great titles this month. Your reader can choose their own adventure as Yael prepares for her bat mitzvah, laugh and cheer for Holling Hoodhood and his Wednesday afternoon antics in Mrs. Baker’s classroom, hold their breath while Irene and her family hide in a circus during the Holocaust, and crack up as Alley and Rex – two very different boys – find their way to an unlikely friendship. Learn more about each of these titles. The book selection deadline is the 10th of the month.

Here are two ways to get advice from noted expert Dr. Sivan Zakai on discussing the tragic situation in Israel with children:

  • Read her article in Kveller, called “How to Talk to Kids About What’s Happening in Israel Right Now.”
  • The Jewish Education Project hosted a webinar with Dr. Zakai to support adults having these challenging conversations with kids. Watch the recording here.

search iconPreschools

Is your little one ready for preschool? We hope that you are able to find a Jewish preschool to start your child on his/her Jewish journey.

search iconDay Schools

Provide your child(ren) with the building blocks for their Jewish future. Explore the options for area day schools and whether they are a good option for your child(ren).

Family-Friendly Volunteer Opportunities

Helping out as a family is a wonderful way for everyone to do a Mitzvah! Jconnect can help you find family-friendly volunteer opportunities. 

Family-Friendly Events Cosponsored by PJ Library in Greater Washington

Coffee & Convo: Mama (and Dads) at Maman

Thursday, July 25, 2024 | 9:30 am - 10:30 am

Wheelchair Accessible

Religious School Information Session

Tuesday, July 30, 2024 | 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

Mark Your Calendars for Laurel ClimbZone

Sunday, August 4, 2024 | 2:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Laurel Climb Zone with Oseh Shalom

Sunday, August 4, 2024 | 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

Story Time at Capital Jewish Museum

Thursday, August 8, 2024 | 10:00 am - 11:00 am

Religious School Information Session

Thursday, August 8, 2024 | 5:30 pm - 6:00 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

Religious School Information Session

Friday, August 16, 2024 | 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

BBQ & Barchu

Friday, August 23, 2024 | 6:15 pm - 8:30 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

End-of-Summer Party and Open House

Sunday, August 25, 2024 | 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

Religious School Information Session

Monday, August 26, 2024 | 4:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Wheelchair Accessible

Wrapping Memory: Oct 7th One Year Anniversary

Wednesday, October 2, 2024 - Tuesday, October 8, 2024 | 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Wheelchair Accessible